Botany Dept

History of the Department

The department of Botany of Bangalore University is one of the oldest departments in the country established in 1919.  The botany department was established in Central College then part of Mysore University with Prof. M. A Sampath kumaran as Head of the department.  In 1964, when the Bangalore University was established, the Central College became the University College and Prof. M. Nagaraj became the first Head of the Department of Botany, Bangalore University.  The departments has produced many stalwarts in the subject like Dr. M. J. Thirunalachelu and Dr. K. S. Gopala Krishna in Antitriotic technology, Dr. A. R. Gopal Ayyengar in Radiation Biology, Dr. T. N. Ramachandra Rao, in Fermentation Technology, Prof. Kaushik, Prof. C. V. Subramanyam, Prof. Nagaraj and Prof. D. A. Govindappa in Morphology.   Further, a very large numbers of past and present teachers and students of this Department have made a distinct mark in the areas of their endeavor both within and outside the country.  During its nine decades of existence, the department is committed to import Botanical Education of high quality and has made an impressive impact in Research.  Presently, the department is in Jnanabharathi Campus with adquate class rooms, Staff Rooms, student and Research Laborataries, Musium, Auditorium and a Library.  In recognition of research activities of the department, different funding Agencies like UGC, CSIR, DBT, DST, FIST, SAP, Non-SAP & MoEF, and even from Private Sectors provided financial assistance to the department and faculty members to pursue advanced research activities.

Chairperson (i/c) Botany  :Dr.T.G. Umesh

Tenure 05.07.2019 To UFO

Coordinator -  Molecular Biology  :Dr.C. Maya

Tenure 05.07.2019 To UFO

Contact Us

Department of Botany
Jnanabharathi Campus
Bangalore University

Bengaluru -560056

Ph: 080 22962311

E.mail :

A. Course Offered - a) M.Sc. in Botany 

                                  b) M.Sc. in Melecular Biology

B. Nature of Course - Semester Scheme

C. Duration -4 Semesters (2 years)

D. Intake - a) 42   b) 22

E. Eligibility :

a) for M.Sc. in Botany : Graduates who have secured 40% marks in aggregate of all subjects and 50% marks in Botany/Applied Botany (cognate subjects) in the qualifying University examination are eligible.

b) for M.Sc. in Molecular Biology:  :Graduates who have secured 50% marks in aggregate of all subjectswith compulsory Chemistry/ Bio - Chemistry and Botany/Zoology/Bio-Chemistry / Bio-Technology / Micro-Biology / Applied Genetics /Applied Botany /Applied Zoology/ Sericulture and other Bio-Science subjects as oneof the Optional Subjects in the qualifying University examinations are eligible.

Sl. NoNameQualificationsDesignationSpecializationView Profile
1Dr. L. RajannaM.Sc., Ph.DProfessorEmbryology, Plant Morphogenesis,  Plant Tissue Culture, Histochemistry and  BiotechnologyProfile
2Dr. V.  SivaramM.Sc., Ph.DProfessorApiculture, Pollination Ecology & Conservation BiologyProfile
3Dr. T. G. UmeshM.Sc., Ph.DProfessorCytogeneticsProfile
4Dr. C. MayaM.Sc., Ph.DAssociate ProfessorMicrobiology, Plant Pathology  Ecology and Environment BiologyProfile
5Dr. H. R. RaveeshaM.Sc.,  Ph.DProfessorPlant Tissue CultureProfile
6Dr. M.N. ShivakameshwariM.Sc., Ph.DAssociate ProfessorCytogenetics and Molecular SystematicsProfile


  1. The Department has successfully completed 20  research projects. Since 2009 funded by UGC, DST, DBT, MOEF and Bangalore University.  Currently  05 research projects are under  progress.
  2. Ph.D -187 and 140 - M.Phil  degrees have been awarded 
  3. Three research fellowships have been sanctioned from 2009 under the UGC Non SAP and 2 fellowships under UGC SAP programme
  4. Lecture notes, PPT, OHP and class notes & books are available in the department