History of the Department
The University Visvesvaraya College of Engineering, popularly known as UVCE, is one of the most prestigious colleges imparting Technical Education in the state of Karnataka. The College as well as Department of Mechanical Engineering was established in the year 1917 by the greatest Engineer of the Country, Statesman of modern times, Bharata Rathna Sir. M. Visvesvaraya. Since its inception, the department has grown by leaps and bounds producing highly competent graduates, postgraduates and doctorates who have occupied prestigious positions both in India and abroad.

The department currently offers one Undergraduate (B.E Fulltime & Part-time) and Four Postgraduate (M.E) Programmes. The Institute has awarded more than 53 Ph.D degrees. At present there are 25 candidates pursuing their Ph.D. The teaching faculty has completed / engaged in number of R & D projects sponsored by UGC, AICTE, MHRD, AR&DB, ADA, Naval Research Board, etc.

Presently, 23 full time faculty members are serving the Institute, of which 19 faculty members possess Ph.D degrees. Four faculty members are pursuing their Doctoral Programme. There are 08 Professors, 10 Associate Professors and 05 Assistant Professors.

Our department has set Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic and Time bound (SMART) objective of attaining academic excellence in UG, PG, M.Sc. (Engineering) by Research and Doctoral programmes on par with IITs and National Institutes of Excellence. It has also set an objective to evolve itself as an R & D center to promote and pursue research in the areas of current industrial and all other relevant thrust areas in Engineering.

Chairperson : Dr. U.N. Kempaiah

Tenure19.03.2020 to 18.03.2020

Contact Us:

Department of Mechanical Engineering
K.R.Circle, Ambedkar Veedhi
Bangalore University

Tel: 080 22961871

E-Mail Id: mechanicalengineering@bub.ernet.in


A. Courses Offered

Title of ProgrammeLevelDuration YearsYear of startingAICTE Sanctioned annual IntakeTotal Student strength
(UG, PG, PhD)
Mechanical Engineering (B.E)UG4 Years1917100449
Part time3 years—–60180
Machine Design (M.E)PG2 Years19641834
Manufacturing Science Engg. (M.E)PG2 Years19741836
Thermal Science Engineering (M.E)PG2 Years20011835
Advanced Material Technology (M.E)PG2 Years20081836
Mechanical EngineeringFull time3 – 5 Years1965NA 
Part Time4 – 6 Years   



Sl. NoNameQualificationsDesignationSpecializationView Profile
1Dr. Paul Vizhian  S.Ph.DProfessorMachine Design & MaterialsProfile
2Dr. N. Lakshamana SwamyPh.DProfessorWelding TechnologyProfile
3Dr. B. M. RajaprakashPh.DProfessorManufacturing, CAD/CAMProfile
4Dr. U. N. KempaiahPh.DProfessorManufacturing ScienceProfile
5Dr. G. HarishPh.DProfessorMetal cuttingProfile
6Dr. C. K. UmeshPh.DProfessorManufacturingProfile
7Dr. ShivarudraiahPh.DProfessorMachine Design & Composite MaterialsProfile
8Dr. H. C. ChittappaPh.DProfessorMachine Design & MaterialsProfile
9Dr. H. N. VidyasagarPh.DProfessorProductionProfile
10Dr. Chandrashekhar  B.Ph.DProfessorMachine Design & SMAProfile
11Dr.  H. K. ShivanandPh.DProfessorProduction & MaterialsProfile
12Mr. V. RamamurthyMSAssociate ProfessorMaintenance EnggProfile
13Dr. Shantha Raj  M.Ph.DAssociate ProfessorMachine Design & Composite MaterialsProfile
14Dr. Hanumantharaju.H.G.Ph.DAssociate ProfessorMachine Design & BiomaterialsProfile
15Dr.  R. RajashekarPh.DAssociate ProfessorMachine DesignProfile
16Dr. Saravanan  R.Ph.DAssociate ProfessorProduction ManagementProfile
17Mr.  G. Prem KumarM.TechAssistant ProfessorThermalProfile